Useless support classes

Use this forum for general discussions

Useless support classes

Postby Hung » Fri Dec 02, 2016 3:02 pm

There is discussion in the neighbour topic on how to keep newbies in the game. And I think that one of the main sloth problems there is unintuitive class order system. It doesnt work as a newbie may expect. I.e. if I was a newbie, my first character would be probably wa/cl. As paladin is pretty balanced class in most RPGs. Unfortunately not in sloth. Where wa/cl is poor choice. While unintuitive wa/dr is much better choice. That brings the topic I would like to discuss. About the fact that some support classes are very useful(such as mentioned druid). And some are completely useless.

I am gonna list support classes that I consider useless and propose some ways to fix that:
  • Thief. Probably number in "useless support classes" rating. Experienced players prefer to put it to the 6+ position in the class order. Maybe it would be good idea to introduce stab damage bonus depending on the thief position. Same way as there is damage reduction bonus for monk.
  • Warrior. The hp bonus of that support class doesnt worth spending precious class position. So experienced players prefer to put the warrior class as far as possible. While many newbie monks choose mo/wa. And they often regret later in the game. As it is painful to live without mana and manaregen. I propose to introduce innate ac bonus depending on the warrior class position. Or maybe weapon damage bonus. Or maybe both (ac and weapon dam bonuses). It'll definitely ease pain of warriors second (that also applies to ba/wa which is also popular newbie choice).