Eqset and Robes

Use this forum for general discussions

Eqset and Robes

Postby Gorka » Fri Jul 28, 2017 4:35 am

Maybe I just don't know, maybe I'm doin' it wrong... but I have robe problems.

I've kind of been a 1 robe guy up til now, but wish to enter the interesting world of robe polygamy. Recently I acquired a Homespun Linen Robe, which I added to my regen set, however this leads to my main robe, my cloak of shadows... also my "stuff" robe, sitting in inv, meaning that I can't so much as pick up a post it note without changing my eq mode.

Potentially, the robe I may want to wear for a certain eq mode may also not be a container... and then what happens... I can't pick up a post it note in that mode too?

Am I failing to use eqset correctly... or is there some way we can make this work whether the robe is the stuff container or not, or if the robe is a container or not?

There are all these sexy robes I want to try and I feel like I am stuck using one if I want to be functional.

Teker? What do you think? Is there a solution?
Gimme a G! Gimme a ORKA!
User avatar
Gorka
Triple 40 Poster
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 5:50 am
Status: Offline

Re: Eqset and Robes

Postby *Idjit* » Fri Jul 28, 2017 6:25 pm

I know you can set robe A to be the defcontainer.
Then you can set robe B's setcontainer to be robe A.

That covers Binary robe systems. (like heal and blast for a C/M).

But we run into trouble, like Gorka said, when I get to robe #3 for chop mode. (wolfskin robe).

It starts giving the "Creates a circle" message.
and then I always have to put, regardless of which robe is called out in the circle message for causing a problem, the robe that came from the last-used set, into the wolfskin robe.
"rem robe;put healer robe;wear robe"

I am wondering if we might move robes into a separate classification within eqsets where "all other robes go into the destination set's designated about-body"

Or some such like. so that we can handle N robes beyond 2.
Food for thought.
--D
User avatar
*Idjit*
40 Prime Poster
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 10:30 pm
Status: Offline

Re: Eqset and Robes

Postby Gorka » Fri Jul 28, 2017 6:56 pm

*Idjit* wrote:I am wondering if we might move robes into a separate classification within eqsets where "all other robes go into the destination set's designated about-body"


This assumes though that your eqset robe is a container... what if it's not... There are mana regen and mana robes that are not containers, what does one do in these situations?

It seems silly that the issue is not your strength or capacity, it's whether the weight is worn or not. What if it was changed so it's doesn't matter if the weight is worn or sitting in inv. Capacity or Strength effect could remain the same and you could still pickup a post it note if your stuff robe happened to be in inv... Or else make all robes containers... or don't compartmentalize the inventory and robe capacity, have a single capacity and it doesn't matter if that capacity is used by items in the robe or in inventory.

It's just kind of annoying that the robe slot is so inflexible, when there are 140 different robes.

* Cue size complaint from Taron... *

Image
Taron's Eq Sets.
Gimme a G! Gimme a ORKA!
User avatar
Gorka
Triple 40 Poster
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 5:50 am
Status: Offline

Re: Eqset and Robes

Postby *teker* » Fri Jul 28, 2017 8:15 pm

I'm open to implementation suggestions. I did limited testing with 3 robes where they work in a circle A -> B ->C -> A and it seemed to work. There are definitely issues when the robes have varying capacity and one won't fit within the other. I tend to split up my gear like this:

Robe A: All blast gear
Robe B: All regen, mana gear
Robe C: All heal, raise gear

For the situation where a robe is not a container - do you have another container equipped at that time? There's nothing special about the robe slot as far as the eqset code goes - you could set up a belt pouch as a container for items. If you're not wearing a container, it's going to be hard to stash all your gear other than leaving it in your inventory.
*teker*
Double 40 Poster
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 3:41 pm
Status: Offline

Re: Eqset and Robes

Postby *Idjit* » Fri Jul 28, 2017 8:51 pm

I solved it
I set myrmidon to use wolfskin
I set wolfskin to use healer
I set healer to use myrmidon
And this seems to have allowed things to be Ternary.
I cycled through all available switches and seemed to be ok.
so it has to fit head to tail apparently.
--Idj
User avatar
*Idjit*
40 Prime Poster
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 10:30 pm
Status: Offline

Re: Eqset and Robes

Postby *Idjit* » Fri Jul 28, 2017 8:55 pm

As regards capacity, we might look at aligning all the robes that are slightly less than 500 capacity for no good particular reason like the Trollskin robe is 400, bumping them all to 500 units.
--D
User avatar
*Idjit*
40 Prime Poster
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 10:30 pm
Status: Offline

Re: Eqset and Robes

Postby *Idjit* » Fri Jul 28, 2017 9:06 pm

I had a thought about weight vs capacity and I wondered if we make "eqset show" more verbose
..
..
Held Ars Magica [ Default ]
Loaded a mithril quarrel [ Default ]

could become
..
..
Held Ars Magica [ Default ] [8]
Loaded a mithril quarrel [ Default ] [1]
eqset 'regen' non-worn weight total [432] pounds in top-level container(s)
total weight of all items, worn and unworn: [537] pounds
total container capacity [1500]

the [8] and [1] could be the pounds of weight of each individual item
I'm probably saying these diagnostic lines all wrong, but some kind of doohickey could be created
for troubleshooting those containers you mentioned had insufficient capacity, so people could fiddle
with it and balance their stuff between their robes.
I don't know I'm just brainstorming.
Thing is, you don't really need the weight of the worn stuff. It isn't counting. You need the weight of the -unworn- stuff, so maybe the individual weights in the worn set aren't really relevant.
--D
User avatar
*Idjit*
40 Prime Poster
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 10:30 pm
Status: Offline

Re: Eqset and Robes

Postby Gorka » Sat Jul 29, 2017 1:42 am

If you messed with eqset show, listing the socketed gem might be nice too.

I'll give the revolving robe thing a go when I get back this afternoon.

There are ma regen and mp non drachma robe options that are containers... Homespun, and Shroud, they are just kind of involved and more difficult forges. I tend to recall the shifting cloak having such a bad pop rate in s3 I got an imm to check it and eventually gave up, I think it's the only time I gave up on a forge (and I soloed my own infernite gauntlets!). Maybe I just have to bite the bullet again.

If what Zuzu says is correct, there are still kind of annoying issues, but at least I can wear different robes.
Gimme a G! Gimme a ORKA!
User avatar
Gorka
Triple 40 Poster
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 5:50 am
Status: Offline

Re: Eqset and Robes

Postby Teron » Sat Jul 29, 2017 4:15 am

1. Zuzu, what happens when you go from myrmidon to healer and back? It should create a loop, as it does for me - I've created the suggested circle myself.

2. I've just ideased yesterday, that if there is a loop, run it once:
- put the worn robe in the non-worn container
- wear the container, if necessary
- stop executing the loop.

If you wear a non-container robe, like a shifting cloak, as I do, then you are screwed, unless you also use another wearable container. However, it is not an option in a maxmana set - there are no containers with max mana.

3. I have to remind you that even 500 size is too small for current amount of sets: we need to at least double robe sizes to be able to wear all the sets for each of our classes, and some classes have several sets (ac/weap dam, hit/hit-saves, ac-saves/ac/ac+charisma).

Changing raven's feather robe to 500 or more would make the homespun linen robe forge obsolete, because it requires a cp from a chop mob and a few other Lyme cps, and it costs 7.5mil. I kind of like the name, though.

4. Making worn eq count would make things worse, unless strength bonus is increased dramatically.

Not counting worn eq means that:
- worn eq doesn't count
- anything in worn containers doesn't count, hence robes.

If you make us count all the weight, like it's done in Aardmud, then we'd need to increase weight allowance drastically, both from strength and inv size.

So far, I can see that the loop can be easily(?) fixed.
As for non-container robes, making them containers would work, but would also make some containers obsolete, including the linen robe (there is a +wis +mr non-container).

Maybe allow us to upgrade robes from linen to a shifting linen robe: -0.0 +mr +15ma, 1k container. That'd work for me, and would also decrease item count.
User avatar
Teron
Avatar Poster
 
Posts: 626
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2004 1:59 pm
Status: Offline

Re: Eqset and Robes

Postby Gorka » Sat Jul 29, 2017 11:08 am

Teron wrote:Not counting worn eq means that:
- worn eq doesn't count


+1
Gimme a G! Gimme a ORKA!
User avatar
Gorka
Triple 40 Poster
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 5:50 am
Status: Offline

Re: Eqset and Robes

Postby Gorka » Sat Jul 29, 2017 12:03 pm

I'm still lost Teker... how do I do this...

Equipment Set 'ac':
Position Item Container
Light a glowing bauble with `Gorka` Cloak of Shadows
Left Finger the titanium ring of glory Cloak of Shadows
Right Finger the titanium ring of glory Cloak of Shadows
Neck 1 ankh of purity Cloak of Shadows
Clasp a golden oak tree charm Cloak of Shadows
Shoulders guards of the maul titans Cloak of Shadows
Clasp a golden oak tree charm Cloak of Shadows
Body Adamantine Cuirass of the Anci Cloak of Shadows
Clasp an emerald serpent brooch Cloak of Shadows
Head a ruby dragonscale helmet Cloak of Shadows
Legs Elven Chain Leggings of the My Cloak of Shadows
Feet gleaming dragonscale sabatons Cloak of Shadows
Hands Adamantite-plated Snakeskin Ga Cloak of Shadows
Arms a set of carved bone armplates Cloak of Shadows
Shield Walls of Jericho Cloak of Shadows
Clasp a dragon emblem Cloak of Shadows
About Cloak of Shadows Cloak of Shadows
Clasp a blazing starburst ruby (Hero Cloak of Shadows
Waist Tooled Girdle of Ogre Kings Cloak of Shadows
Left Wrist a rune-carved loop of green ad Cloak of Shadows
Clasp some stardust Cloak of Shadows
Right Wrist a rune-carved loop of green ad Cloak of Shadows
Clasp some stardust Cloak of Shadows
Wielded a double bladed battle axe [ Default ]
Held Sacred Relic of the High Palad Cloak of Shadows

<1441hp 602ma 400mv 11118372097xp -13.5ac -%>
You are carrying:
a keg of icybrau
a white silk robe
a mithril keychain
a wheel of opportunity..It has a soft glowing aura!
an ornate scrolled post..It emits a faint humming sound!
a large leather backpack
swirling black and red robes

---------------------------------------

Equipment Set 'regen':
Position Item Container
Light a glowing bauble with `Gorka` Cloak of Shadows
Left Finger a wiedzmin ring Cloak of Shadows
Right Finger a wiedzmin ring Cloak of Shadows
Neck 1 a choker of midnight sapphires Cloak of Shadows
Neck 2 a choker of midnight sapphires Cloak of Shadows
Body a gilded corset of crimson and Cloak of Shadows
Head a silver circlet Cloak of Shadows
Legs sandy silk pants Cloak of Shadows
Feet a pair of jade slippers Cloak of Shadows
Hands a set of emerald gauntlets Cloak of Shadows
Arms silver cloth sleeves Cloak of Shadows
Shield a swirling shield of sparks Cloak of Shadows
About a homespun linen robe Cloak of Shadows
Clasp a blazing starburst ruby (Hero Cloak of Shadows
Waist a clipped feather Cloak of Shadows
Left Wrist a band of ether Cloak of Shadows
Clasp some stardust Cloak of Shadows
Right Wrist a band of ether Cloak of Shadows
Clasp some stardust Cloak of Shadows
Wielded a sliver of midnight Cloak of Shadows
Held a runed taffeta pouch Cloak of Shadows

<1439hp 604ma 402mv 11118372097xp -1.1ac -%>
You are carrying:
Cloak of Shadows ()socketed Eye Agate Rune() [PROBLEM]
a keg of icybrau
a white silk robe
a mithril keychain
a wheel of opportunity..It has a soft glowing aura!
an ornate scrolled post..It emits a faint humming sound!
a large leather backpack
swirling black and red robes

---------------------------------------

How have you designed this to work? If my default container is my cloak of shadows which contains all my eqsets... how can I switch to regen mode and not have my cloak of shadows in my inv, but instead inside my Homespun Linen Robe?
Gimme a G! Gimme a ORKA!
User avatar
Gorka
Triple 40 Poster
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 5:50 am
Status: Offline

Re: Eqset and Robes

Postby Teron » Sat Jul 29, 2017 12:22 pm

wear the ac set
have linen robe in the inv
eqs setc linen shadows
User avatar
Teron
Avatar Poster
 
Posts: 626
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2004 1:59 pm
Status: Offline

Re: Eqset and Robes

Postby Gorka » Sat Jul 29, 2017 4:11 pm

Thanks Taron, that resolved my issue.
Gimme a G! Gimme a ORKA!
User avatar
Gorka
Triple 40 Poster
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 5:50 am
Status: Offline

Re: Eqset and Robes

Postby *Idjit* » Sat Jul 29, 2017 9:14 pm

As regards Teker's question about whether for a non-container robe if another non-robe item is equipped that's a container, I'd have to remind us that it's a long standing thematic thing on Sloth, indeed in Diku's in general, that the about-body containers are at least twice the size of the capacity of something like a waist-worn beltpouch or a held-low bag, unless the bag is something crazy like a Portable Hole. The robes are simply conceived as something much bigger than the other varieties, and certainly bigger than a 'trick' container like the boots of radiance.

So even if they did have a non-about-body container equipped, their container-robe isn't going to fit into it.
Asserting that that robe is mostly full of goodies (as it will be for the people concerned enough to raise the issue).
...By a factor of at least 2 to 1.
Did that make sense?
User avatar
*Idjit*
40 Prime Poster
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 10:30 pm
Status: Offline

Re: Eqset and Robes

Postby *Breeze* » Sun Jul 30, 2017 2:05 am

It's a robe, not a Tardis. ;)
User avatar
*Breeze*
Triple 40 Poster
 
Posts: 430
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 9:24 am
Status: Offline

Next

Return to General Chat (Registered)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 3 guests

cron