Town Crier Post Order

Please post your ideas to improve our web site.

Which order do you prefer the forums.

Poll ended at Tue Jun 06, 2006 4:48 pm

Oldest at the top of a page
31%
Newest at the top of a page
69%

Total votes : 32

Town Crier Post Order

Postby Clink » Fri Jun 02, 2006 4:48 pm

Though there is actually less functionality available with the Newest Post on top, I will go with the popular opinion. Voting closes in 4 days.

Post comments on reasons why you would persuade your fellow board members which way you would want it.
Clink
Greater God

Thread order

Postby Avatar » Fri Jun 02, 2006 5:28 pm

(A) I'm not an expert at software usability, but I guess there's something to be said for leaving software interfaces operating the way users are familiar with them operating.

(B) Using either method, some people will have to open the thread and scroll all the way to the bottom. If the newest posts are on the bottom, then the people who use the crier most often are scrolling to the bottom most often to check the newest posts on a thread. If the oldest posts are on the bottom, people who are new to the thread scroll to the bottom so that they can read the whole thing.

It seems your most frequent users who are always checking for the most recent posts might save time and effort if the newest posts are on top.

(C) Thanks for the "new since last" option, that's the only method I use to interact with the forums.
Triple 40 Poster

Postby Weasel » Fri Jun 02, 2006 5:55 pm

I think Avatar covered it pretty well there. If you check the board often, it's certainly easier to have newest at top - who wants to scroll past the same old stuff every time to get to the new posts (unless you want to carefully click on that little orange box that's about 3x3 pixels).